Peace For All

September 25, 2006

Treating Your Acne Part 4: Proactive Solution

Filed under: acne, health, Life in general — Devlin Bentley @ 1:34 pm

This is the part that sounds like a sales pitch. I used to have white heads going down my back before I started Proactiv, at present, I have 3 white heads on my face. From hundreds to three, the numbers alone speak for the efficiency of the product.

Proactiv treats all three sources of acne. It exfoliates (a fancy word that means “removes top layer of dead skin”) your skin, moisturizes it (this sounds odd, but wait!) kills the bacteria, and shrinks pores.

Proactiv has three steps:

  1. The first step is a beaded face wash that exfoliates your skin and has a strong benzoyl peroxide base to it, helping to ensuring that any bacteria that are exposed during this initial scrub are killed before they can spread to neighboring pores.
  2. The second step hydrates your skin. Don’t ask me what this means, I just know that it has witch hazel in it, and while witch hazel has a tendency to dry out skin, it is also a very nifty chemical overall in its many uses. It is applied with a cotton pad (cotton balls are a good way to waste your Proactiv and get a very clean cotton pads and not much second step on your face!)
  3. The third step contains a weaker (than the first step) dose of benzoyl peroxide, and moisturizing agents that help keep your face from producing excessive oils (as discussed previously). The third step also helps to reduce pore size (The larger the pores, the easier they get infected with acne and the worse the white heads) and to make your skin nice and smooth. It also lightens the color of acne scars, helping to blend them in with the rest of your face.

Proactiv gets insulted a lot, but I’ll tell you something, I have tried other cheaper products that say they work just as well as Proactiv: They don’t.

For the record, in contrast to what Proactiv’s latest adverts say, it does take awhile before it starts working. They used to admit this, and I think that it hurts their business reputation to claim instant results. Your first month (or two!) may involve a huge break out, but continued regular usage, twice a day every day will result in your acne improving. Mine is rather cyclic, it gets a lot better, than a little bit worse. It has been that way for over three years now, but as I said, I am down to just three whiteheads during a break out, compared to having hundreds on my face and back continuously.

3 Comments »

  1. I’ve contemplated using this product. I developed adult acne.

    Thanks for the review. . . .

    Comment by Joey — November 26, 2006 @ 6:01 am

  2. Hi,

    I love that you have this up for people to see. I have been contemplating publishing something similar for people to read as well.

    Pro active for me was much the same success as what you have described however i did get some imediate results…not complete clearing but a huge difference in the first 2 weeks of using it everyday.

    Pro Active didnt really come close to cureing all my acne but it has destroyed the majority of my old nemesis big zits(no idea what the med term is for them lol). I have sensitive skin around my face that is prone to getting really dry so i also use the proactive moisturiser after i do the 3 steps.

    The only way i have almost perfect skin these days is through my DIET. I havn’t ceased using Pro Active but i’m using it less and less lately and my skin is coping fine! So going by my personal experiences the Below Diet is my saviour…I encourage anyone else to try the combo of proactive and the diet and tell me if it works for you!

    The recommended skin-friendly foods are:
    Wholegrain bread
    Porridge
    Muesli
    Basmati rice
    Sweet potatoes
    Lean red meat at least 3-4 times a week Fish
    Green vegetables
    Fruit
    Nuts
    Eggs
    Avocadoes

    Foods to avoid are:
    White bread
    Sweet biscuits
    Sugary breakfast cereals
    White rice
    Potatoes
    Cakes and sweet biscuits
    Pies Lollies Chocolate
    Hot chips

    Hope this helps some of you out there! It’s helped me

    Comment by Todd — March 11, 2007 @ 8:16 pm

  3. and chocolate…. chocolate is ok.. (is it?) Of course it is!!

    Comment by David Moulton — April 19, 2010 @ 1:49 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

